Request Info
naab, accreditation naab, accreditation

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards. 

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of Miami School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

B.Arch (171 undergraduate credits)
M.Arch I (3-year Track – 102 graduate credits)
M.Arch I AP (2-year Track – 60 graduate credits)

The next accreditation visit for all programs will be during the Spring of 2025.

NAAB Conditions and Procedures

NAAB Accreditation Program Reports

NAAB Visiting Team Reports

NAAB Annual Reports

U-SoA Information

SACS Policy